Movie: Captain America: Civil War

Genre: Action/Adventure, Superhero

Title: Captain America: Civil War

Release Date: 6 May, 2016

mv5bmjq0mtgynjaxmv5bml5banbnxkftztgwnjuzmdkyode-_v1__sx1377_sy723_

Summary: 

Political interference in the Avengers’ activities causes a rift between former allies Captain America and Iron Man.

What I Liked:

Wow.  Marvel continues to blow me away with their excellent movies.  I’ve been hooked since Iron Man came out in 2009, but these Captain America movies by the Russo brothers are really just a cut above the rest of the MCU.

I loved the conflict in this movie.  While I was pretty firmly on #TeamCap from before I knew anything about the movie, I truly could see the drive behind the #TeamStark point of view.  There is no right or wrong side; There is just a conflict of principles.  The character motivations are clear cut and believable.  Every choice that the characters make makes sense.  And for how many characters are packed into this movie, that’s amazing.

Every character is given their moment.  Not just cool action moments, but small, personal moments as well.  From Scarlet Witch and Vision flirting  talking in the kitchen, to that gut-wrenching scene where Tony finds out that…well, no spoilers here.  But, ouch.

And the new characters were a great addition.  Ant-man isn’t really new, but it was great to see him interact with the Avengers team.  Black Panther is a total bad ass, and I can’t wait to see his solo movie.  And, of course, the guy who everyone is talking about: Spiderman.

I was a huge fan of the Sam Raimi Spiderman movies in the early 2000s.  I didn’t bother to see the reboots with Andrew Garfield because I didn’t want to watch another origin story rehash.  So, I am happy to say, that Marvel has officially dodged the (unnecessary) origin story bullet, and is diving right in with the best movie version of Spiderman yet.

This Spiderman actually looks and sounds like a teenager!  Like Spiderman is supposed to be!  He’s quipy, smart, charming, and kind of a pain in the ass.  I am finally excited to see a Spiderman movie again! 13-year-old-me is so happy right now. 🙂

What I Didn’t:

Not much to be honest.  I’ve only seen the movie once so far, so I’m sure I’ll come out of my second viewing with some nitpicks.  I guess a couple of the action scenes were a bit jerky for me?  Maybe?  Or maybe I just think that because I prefer the character explorations and angst to the fighting.  Thank you movie, for bringing all the angst!

Overall:

Amazing.  I was worried that Captain America was going to be pushed aside in his own movie by the sheer number of characters, but this was still very firmly a Captain America movie.  I love the growth and complexity that the MCU has gained, and I can’t wait to see where this huge, one-of-a-kind, movie universe takes us next.

My Rating: 4.5/5 (Greatly enjoyed, will see again and buy on blu-ray)

Leave a Reply

