Book: Triple Play (Homeruns #3) by Sloan Johnson

Genre: MMM Romance, explicit

Title: Triple Play

Author: Sloan Johnson

Release Date: October 2015

ClutchPlay

Summary: 

Drew Jackson seemed to have it all. He has a family who loves and supports him, a tight circle of friends, and is a rising star with the Milwaukee Mavericks. Then, it all begins to unravel. Cam, the only man he’s ever loved, falls head over heels for Drew’s teammate. He makes a critical mistake in the playoffs that he’s not sure he’ll be able to recover from. And then, his world really crashes around him…

Eric Sapp may no longer play for the Mavericks, but he’s still one of the guys. No one could have imagined how much his life would change when he agreed to help his former teammates mourn the end of their run for the pennant. After stopping a brutal attack, Eric is forced to face the feelings that’ve been growing for his roommate, Drew. That’d be much easier if Drew wasn’t hell-bent on pushing everyone away as he recovers.

Neither of them were counting on Bryce Shaw. He and Drew enjoyed the one night they spent together, but knew it was unlikely they’d be anything more since they lived in different parts of the country. After Bryce is relocated to help a failing LGBT homeless outreach, he wants to explore something more with the Mavericks’ short stop.

As much as Eric wishes he could be the one to help his friend, he knows Bryce holds the key to Drew’s recovery. Will pushing the two back together be the biggest mistake of his life or will they all learn there is strength in numbers?

What I Liked:

It isn’t often that I read MMM menage books, but I gave this one a shot because I had read the first two books in the series, and I’m always up for a sports romance.  The realtionship in this book is actually very sweet and balanced.  Also, the sex scenes are hot, and there is an interesting story outside of the actual romance.

What I Didn’t:

I’ll admit that I read the first two books in this series…at least a year ago, I think?  I know I read them, but I honestly didn’t remember anything about them other than ‘gay baseball players.’  But even so, I shouldn’t have been so confused while reading this book.  I know that all of the characters were already introduced in the previous books, but you still need to give them a bit of a reintroduction in the sequels.  I kept forgetting who was who and what their backstory was because I had to piece it together based on the summaries of the previous books and random comments by the characters.

Every book should be written to be understood as a standalone, even if it’s part of a series.  On the off chance that someone accidentally buys book 3 without reading books 1 and 2, you still want them to enjoy their experience and be able to read the book without feeling frustrated.  This is something that Richelle Mead does very well her Vampire Academy books.  She does it so well, in fact, that it got a bit annoying when I read all 6 books in the span of a week!  But it’s better to annoy a few future readers than to turn away new readers.

Also, for being a book about baseball player, there zero baseball involved in the story, which was disappointing to me.  Stupid off season!

Overall:

This book was frustrating but enjoyable.  I didn’t love it, didn’t hate it, but I’m not sure if it’ll ever get a reread from me.  It introduces the main characters for the next book in the series, and I’m interested enough to buy it to see their story play out.

My Rating: 2.5/5 (It’s okay. Not going to remember this one, but I’ll still read the sequel)

Leave a Reply

