Movie: Deadpool

Genre: Action/Adventure, Superhero, R-Rated

Title: Deadpool

Release Date: 12 February 2016

mv5bmja5nty4otu2nf5bml5banbnxkftztgwotkzmjk0nze-_v1__sx1377_sy723_

Summary:

A former Special Forces operative turned mercenary is subjected to a rogue experiment that leaves him with accelerated healing powers, adopting the alter ego Deadpool.

What I Liked:

So, I didn’t think I was going to like this movie.  In fact, I put off watching this until my boyfriends was like, “We’re watching Deadpool,” and I had no choice (This is a lie. I could have said no, but I figured maybe he was right and I actually would enjoy the movie).

  He was right and I actually enjoyed the movie.  I really enjoyed it.  It was actually fun.  And funny.  And surprisingly romantic.  All I know about Deadpool I learned on the internet and conventions, so I new that he liked bad words, fourth wall breaking, and pop culture references.  Those things can be funny when used correctly (and sparingly), so I wasn’t overly optimistic that a Deapool movie was going to be even tolerable for me.

This movie definitely managed to subvert my expectations.  The things I mentioned were indeed all present, but it was balanced with sweetness, good humor, and heart (also graphic violence and sex).  I guess I didn’t expect this movie to really have a plot, which is stupid.  It turns out that there is a story here, a good story with good characters.

And that’s really why I ended up liking the movie so much.  It made me feel all of the emotions.  It introduced me to new characters.  And, while at it’s base it is a standard superhero comic book movie, there is still something refreshingly new about it.

What I didn’t:

The beginning was a bit of a slog for me.  It was basically everything that I feared a Deadpool movie would be.  I didn’t hate it, but I was gearing up to hating it if the entire movie continued on that way.  It’s almost like they wanted to get it all out of the way early, so they could get on with the actually story.

Overall:

I surprisingly really liked this movie.  While the beginning was a bit over the top for me, the plot was good, the characters were good, and the acting was good.  This movie was a lot of fun, probably the most romantic movie released around Valentine’s Day in the past few years (eat your heart out, 50 Shades of Grey!).

My Rating: 4/5 (So good! I’m probably gonna go buy this.)

Leave a Reply

