Book: Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

Genre: YA Science Fiction/Fantasy

Title: Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer

Release Date: 3 January 2012

11235712

Summary: 

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

What I Liked:

There is so much amazing packed into this book.  For being a sci-fi novel, all of the characters felt real and were very easy to connect with.  I love getting to see from different character’s points of view, since they have such different backgrounds, knowledge, and experience.  It really helps the reader learn about and understand this new world/society that is so different from our own.  I liked all the characters I was supposed to like, and I honestly couldn’t put this book down!

Another thing that was great was the world building.  It’s a sort of sci-fi fantasy based in the future of Earth.  There are people of many different colors and ethnicity represented in this book, and it’s not made out to be a “big thing.”  Bits and pieces are taken from many different cultures and kind of smashed together to form these new countries and empires.  Sometimes, sci-fi and dystopian novels only partially develop their world (e.g. The Hunger Games and Divergent), but I felt that Cinder did a really good job of creating a stable foundation for a fully realized universe.

I’ve always loved fairy tale retellings, and I have to say that this one is definitely one of my favorites!

What I Didn’t:

Is it terrible that I can’t think of anything?  I mean, I absolutely hated the characters Adri and Pearl, but I was supposed to, so that’s probably not really a negative…  I guess it was a bit disappointing ow easy it was to guess the “twist” at the end.

Overall:

You had me at “Cyborg Cinderella.” This book is a great mix of sci-fi, politics, and romance. I liked Cinder as a character and her relationships with her android sidekick Iko, her step-sister Peony, and the prince were interesting and touching. The politics were frustrating, but they were meant to be, so that made it enjoyable. I hate the lunar Queen Levana so much! Poor Prince Kai is forced to deal with that manipulative witch so much, and it just seems like there is no way for him to win. I really liked this book because it was weird and original, while telling a classic tale that everyone knows so well. I will warn you that it is a bit difficult to get into in the beginning because of all the sci-fi concepts and lingo, but the story soon grabs the reader and doesn’t let go.

My Rating: 5/5 (LOVED it! Definitely one of my favorites)

Leave a Reply

