Movie: Zootopia (2016)

Genre: Animated Family Action/Adventure

Title: Zootopia

Release Date: 4 March 2016

mv5bmmi2owmxztatnzvmyi00ywqxltlimgqtodkwndqxotrlmgq2xkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymtmxodk2otu-_v1__sx1303_sy615_

Summary: 

In a city of anthropomorphic animals, a rookie bunny cop and a cynical con artist fox must work together to uncover a conspiracy.

What I Liked:

Is everything an acceptable answer?  The early trailers that I saw for this movie didn’t give much away, so I didn’t know quite what to expect.  My guess was that this movie was going to be a cutesy, feel-good animal story with some comedy.  And, yeah.  It’s a cute, funny, feel-good story featuring animal characters.  It’s also a darn good mystery/buddy cop movie, and a good critique of prejudice and discrimination.

The world building in this movie is great.  The world is setup by two different narrations towards the beginning, but the narration itself turns out to be part of the narrative.  Everything else is explained by visuals, and the animators don’t waste a second of film nor an inch of screen. The world is so well thought out and established that the movies leaves you wanting more stories set in Zootopia.

The characters are also amazing.  The leads, Judy (Ginnifer Goodwin) and Nick (Jason Bateman), have great chemistry and voice acting is A+.  But beyond them, the supporting cast is also great.  All of the characters feel very real.  So real, in fact, that you completely forget that they’re animated animals in a made-up world.  One of my personal favorites is probably Chief Bogo (Idris Elba).  He’s a total hardass, but he definitely has some (hilarious) hidden depths .

I also don’t understand why the Shakira song from this movie didn’t get more popular. It’s so darn catchy! Why no radio play?

What I Didn’t:

I can’t think of anything that I didn’t like about this movie. I guess the story is a bit dark for tiny children.  There are a couple of really tense moments and even one jump scare.  For reference, I would put the darkness/scariness on par with that of Big Hero 6.

Overall:

This movie is so great. It feels a bit like Toy Story to me, filled with the same wonder and emotion.  I loved the world, the characters, the plot, and the themes.  I even love the obligatory pop song that every animated movie seems required to have!  I really can’t recommend this movie enough.  I definitely plan to buy it when it’s released on Blu-ray and DVD  on 7 June, and I see many repeat viewings in my future.

My Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

