Movie: Goon (2011)

Genre: Sports Comedy, R-Rated

Title: Goon

Release Date: 24 February 2012

mv5bmtcxotqwmtq3mf5bml5banbnxkftztcwmdcyotqwnw-_v1__sx1303_sy615_

Summary: 

Labeled an outcast by his brainy family, a bouncer overcomes long odds to lead a team of under performing misfits to semi-pro hockey glory, beating the crap out of everything that stands in his way.

What I Liked:

Doug is the best character ever.  He’s big and tough and can throw a helluva punch, but he is also the sweetest, nicest person ever.  I mean, he’s also as dumb as a rock, but he is such a good person, that it doesn’t even matter.   The world would be a better place if everyone could be a bit more like Doug Glatt.

I’m not a huge fan of comedies, but most of the humor here really works for me.  The characters are quirky and weird, but not so over the top as to be unbelievable (well…for the most part).  It’s the little things that normally get me to laugh the hardest, and this movie has a lot of those little details that you don’t really notice the first time but are the funniest things ever upon a rewatch.

The story is pretty much your standard sports movie plot, but you really buy into the story because the characters are so likable.  All of the characters change and grow throughout the movie.  Character arcs all around!

What I Didn’t:

I’m a sucker for romance, so I really enjoy the romance subplot between Doug and Eva….BUT, I’m not crazy about the whole cheating aspect of it.  I mean, yeah, they only made out, but I still don’t like that she cheated on her boyfriend even that much. (Mostly, I just try to ignore that, lol.)

My other big problem with this movie is Doug’s parents.  You know how I mentioned how all of the characters change and grow?  Yeah, I take that back when it comes to these two.  Maybe it would have been a cliche to have them be proud of Doug being happy and finding his ‘thing,’ but they didn’t.  And they exit the movie kind of abruptly.  It felt like there should have been some sort of reconciliation between Doug and his parents, but they just leave and never come back into the movie.  It just feels a bit…weird.

As usual, I’ll put my content warnings in this section.  This movie is rated R for a reason.  It’s about a hockey enforcer, so there are lots of on-ice fights with realistic violence and lots of blood.  There is also tons of profanity and some sexist and homophobic language (about what you’d expect in a men’s locker room.)  That being said, I did not find the movie itself sexist or homophobic, but you have now  been warned. (There might be some brief female nudity, too, but I’m not 100% certain).

Overall:

I put off watching this movie for a long time, because I tend to find sports movies a bit ‘meh.’  They all have the same basic plot and they lean to the side of sappy and melodramatic.  Goon keeps that same plot but makes it seem new again by focusing on humor and charming characters.  In fact, that’s the word I would use to describe this movie: charming.  Which is hilarious, considering how much cussing, blood, and violence this movie contains!  Basically , I love this movie,and I can’t wait until the sequel is released next year!!!!!

My Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

