Book: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

Genre: YA Science Fiction/Fantasy

Title: Scarlet

Author: Marissa Meyer

Release Date: 5 February 2013

Previous Book in Series: Cinder

13206760

Summary: 

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

What I Liked:

What’s interesting about this book, is that it is a continuation of the series, but much of it focuses on a completely new character on a completely different place that Cinder.  The author does a great job splitting time between Cinder (who is obviously the main character of the series), and Scarlet (who is the main character of the book).  Eventually their stories do converge, but until then, the storytelling is well balanced between the two.

This universe really is amazing.  In many futuristic YA books, I feel that the world-building often falls short.  The area where the action is taken place is well established, but you don’t get to see the whole world.  Some examples of this include The Hunger Games and Divergent.  I enjoyed both, but I felt that the worlds weren’t very well established.  The Lunar Chronicles, however take time to establish the history of how the world came to this point.  It doesn’t just stay in one place, either.  The Eastern Commonwealth, the European Federation, the African Union, and the American Republic are all mentioned.  The scope and scale of this story is huge and ambitious, and I’m loving every second of it.

What I Didn’t:

For some books, I really hate this section of the review.  I don’t really have any problems with this book.  I like all of the characters that I’m supposed to like and hate the ones that I’m supposed to hate.  I can’t stop reading, because I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!!!  There, that’s what I didn’t like!  The lack of sleep that this book has caused me! lol

Overall:

This book was even better than Cinder. I loved that the story follows Cinder on her journey as she becomes a fugitive and how we see the fall-out of her actions entwined with Kai and Scarlet’s stories. Scarlet is such a strong and determined character, driven by the love of her grandmother, and Wolf is utterly charming. They have a great chemistry together, even better than the romance between Cinder and Kai in the first book. Captain Thorne is very fun and gives off an almost Han Solo-ish vibe. This book is fast-paced, romantic, and doesn’t skimp on the crazy sci-fi that I loved in the first book.

My Rating: 5/5

4 thoughts on “Book: Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

  1. I absulutely loved Scarlet! I’ve recently finished the series and it’s still my favourite in the series. The other books are great but I really love Scarlet and everything that went on in this book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

