Book: Him (Him #1)

Genre: MM Contemporary Romance, Explicit

Title: Him

Author: Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy

Release Date: July 2015

25686927

Summary: 

Jamie Canning has never been able to figure out how he lost his closest friend. Four years ago, his tattooed, wise-cracking, rule-breaking roommate cut him off without an explanation. So what if things got a little weird on the last night of hockey camp the summer they were eighteen? It was just a little drunken foolishness. Nobody died.

Ryan Wesley’s biggest regret is coaxing his very straight friend into a bet that pushed the boundaries of their relationship. Now, with their college teams set to face off at the national championship, he’ll finally get a chance to apologize. But all it takes is one look at his longtime crush, and the ache is stronger than ever.

Jamie has waited a long time for answers, but walks away with only more questions—can one night of sex ruin a friendship? If not, how about six more weeks of it? When Wesley turns up to coach alongside Jamie for one more hot summer at camp, Jamie has a few things to discover about his old friend…and a big one to learn about himself.

What I Liked:

This book was such a pleasant surprise!  I love MM sports romances, so when I saw this pop up on my suggested goodreads, I knew I had to read it right away.  I love Wes and Jamie and the way that their friendship grows into something more.  They are so sweet and patient with each other, especially considering the misunderstanding that led to them not talking for four years.

I liked Jamie’s journey of discovering his bisexuality.  There was confusion and angst, but not too much where it became dreary and unbearable.  I love seeing bisexual characters in my romance, no matter the gender of them or their endgame partner.  That part of the reason I hate the term “Gay-For-You romances.”  It completely ignores the fact that bisexuality is actually a thing.  People who think that they are straight have fallen in love with someone of their own gender before.  It’s not because of Gay-For-You; It’s because they’re not as straight as they thought they were!  And there’s nothing wrong with that!(</rant> lol)

I also loved Jamie and Wes working at the summer camp.  They get to go back to where they were together for so many summers, but they also get to take on the role as teachers.  You can see how passionate they are about hockey and getting to help the camp kids hone their hockey skills.  It also allows for seamless transitions to flashbacks of when Jamie and Wes were campers themselves.  The camp was a great set up to get Jamie and Wes comfortable with each other again.

What I Didn’t:

I can’t really think of anything that I didn’t like.  I guess the skinny-dipping/semi-public sex made me a bit uncomfortable, but I’ve read much worse.  Content warnings for this book include some sexism and homophobia.

Overall:

I love that MF romance writers are beginning to cross over to MM as well, because it’s bringing a wider audience into the MM genre.  I  have a lot of friends who don’t normally read MM but read this book because they fans of both Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy.  This is my first book by either author, but I will definitely check out their other writing in the future.

Him is full of tropes and cliches, but that’s kind of why I love it.  I love MM sports romances, and this hits on all of the themes that I love in the genres: friend to lovers, unrequited love, and secret relationships.  And to top it all off, the characters play hockey, my absolute favorite sport!  This was a quick read, with a sweet romance, just a bit of angst, and some really steamy scenes.  I’m so glad that there’s a sequel so that I can continue to follow Wes and Jamie’s story.

My Rating: 4/5

2 thoughts on “Book: Him (Him #1)

Leave a Reply

