Book: A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove #1) by Tessa Dare

Genre: MF Historical Romance, Explicit

Title: A Night to Surrender

Author: Tessa Dare

Release Date: 30 August 2011

10429836

Summary: 

Spindle Cove is the destination of choice for certain types of well-bred young ladies: the painfully shy, young wives disenchanted with matrimony, and young girls too enchanted with the wrong men; it is a haven for those who live there.

Victor Bramwell, the new Earl of Rycliff, knows he doesn’t belong here. So far as he can tell, there’s nothing in this place but spinsters… and sheep. But he has no choice, he has orders to gather a militia. It’s a simple mission, made complicated by the spirited, exquisite Susanna Finch—a woman who is determined to save her personal utopia from the invasion of Bram’s makeshift army.

Susanna has no use for aggravating men; Bram has sworn off interfering women. The scene is set for an epic battle… but who can be named the winner when both have so much to lose?

What I Liked:

Throughout this novel, Spindle Cove really grew on me.  I wasn’t sure how to feel at first, but many of the ladies were quirky misfits, and I can imagine fitting in with them quite well.  I also quite liked the story of the reason why Susanna has made Spindle Cove into a sanctuary for these women.  Regency-era medicine truly was a horrifying thing, and as someone with mental health issues, I shudder to think what would have become of me id I were living back them.  Leeches and bleeding and ice baths…No thank you!

Susanna is feisty and independent, which I like in my heroines, but she was also very flawed.  Her past still hold so much power over her that she is a lot more insecure than she would like to think.  She’s also just a tad controlling.  But that just makes it more interesting when Bram shows up .

Bram has a lot of issues as well.  He is a soldier.  That’s all he’s ever been and all he knows how to do.  So while still recovering from a terrible injury, he really doesn’t know what to do with himself.  He is well enough to do most things, but no matter what he says, he is not ready to go back into the field.  I like these two characters together because they challenge each other .  They aren’t afraid to strip each other down to the core and reveal their deepest fears and insecurities.  They have both been hurt, but with each other, they can finally heal.

What I Didn’t:

I was annoyed by the twist/betrayal that is revealed towards the end.  I know that it was necessary in order to get certain emotions out of the main characters, but it still made me angry.

Also, Bram’s cousin is the worst.  Am I still going to read his book?  Yes, but only because I think that Minerva Highwood will be good at taking him down a few notches (though to be honest, he’ll probably be good for her too.  She’s so clueless and awkward!).

Overall:

This was a nice, easy romance novel.  The writing flows well and the story has substance but never gets too heavy.  Spindle Cove is nicely setup for many more novels to come, filled with many different personalities and stories.  If you enjoy Regency-era romances, this is definitely a series that you should check out.

(One last thing I forgot! My favorite thing in this book is definitely Bram’s pet lamb named Dinner.  I chuckled every time it was mentioned!)

My Rating: 3.5/5

2 thoughts on “Book: A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove #1) by Tessa Dare

Leave a Reply

