Book: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

Genre: YA Science Fiction/Fantasy

Title: Cress

Author: Marissa Meyer

Release Date: 4 February 2014

Previous Book in Series: Scarlet

13206828

Summary: 

In the third installment of the Lunar chronicles, Cress, having risked everything to warn Cinder of Queen Levana’s evil plan, has a slight problem. She’s been imprisoned on a satellite since childhood and has only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress a great hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress involving Cinder, Captain Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes as a high price. Meanwhile, Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

What I Liked:

Wow! This book was amazing! Meyer does a magnificient job of building upon the previous books by upping the stakes and expanding her characters and universe. The continuing story becomes even more complicated and dangerous in Cress, as our goup of heroes gets split apart from eachother. The book is split into multiple POVs, and Meyer juggles the characters well, though Scarlet and Wolf don’t get quite as much time as I would have liked. Their romance is still probably my favorite in the series.

In Scarlet , we were introduced to the character of Captain Carswell Thorne, and I must admit, that while he was amusing, I wasn’t in love with him. That all changed in this book, as he develops into a more well-rounded character and proves his worth and swoonworthiness. I also quite liked the character of Cress. She is innocent and naive, but still manages to be tough in difficult situations. She actually reminded me a bit of the Disney version of Rapunzel from the movie Tangled, but this isn’t a bad thing since I love that movie. I also loved how she came off a bit crazy at times, which she should after spending 7 years alone on a satellite.

As with the first two books, I loved the political drama. Most of the politics in this book revolve around the upcoming royal wedding between Emporer Kai and the Lunar Queen, Levana. Poor Kai has to make some difficult decisions about the lunars, the letumosis plague, cyborgs, and the search for Princess Selene.

What I Didn’t:

I guess this book really had the first character that I really didn’t care about, Dr. Dmitry Erland a.k.a. Sage Darnel.  He was in Cinder as well, but in that book he had a more specific purpose.  He gave Cinder and the reader information that they needed to know.  Here, they give him an backstory and emotional moments with Cress, but…I just didn’t really feel it.  I didn’t like/trust him enough to feel emotional about him and neither does Cress, so that bit felt a little flat to me.  These things was so late in the book, however, that I can see Cress having internal conflict over them in the next book.  I might care more then.  We’ll have to see.

This is the longest book so far.  Personally, I love long, drawn-out stories, but I can see where some people might feel this story drags in the middle.  I didn’t have that problem, though.  I powered through this book in 1 day. Curse you, Marissa Meyer, for stealing my precious sleep!!!

Overall: 

I think that this book is the best in the series so far. The situations are trickier and the stakes are higher. The characters, the world-building, and romances are all well developed and realistic, and the twists and turns on the original fairy tales are unique and inspired. This series is probably my favorite YA series on the shelves today!

My Rating: 5/5

3 thoughts on “Book: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

