Book: Hidden Truths (The Oregon Series #2) by Jae

Genre: FF Historical Romance, Explicit

Title: Hidden Truths

Author:  Jae

Release Date: 21 January 2014

Previous Book in the Series: Backwards of Oregon

20628908

Summary: 

“Luke” Hamilton has been living as a husband and father for the past seventeen years. No one but her wife, Nora, knows she is not the man she appears to be. They have raised their daughters to become honest and hard-working young women, but even with their loving foundation, Amy and Nattie are hiding their own secrets.

Just as Luke sets out on a dangerous trip to Fort Boise, a newcomer arrives on the ranch—Rika Aaldenberg, who traveled to Oregon as a mail-order bride, hiding that she’s not the woman in the letters.

When hidden truths are revealed, will their lives and their family fall apart or will love keep them together?

What I Liked:

Do you remember how my review of the previous book, Backwards to Oregon, was basically just me raving about how great it was?  Yeah.  This review is going to be more of the same.

Jae is so good at slow-build romances.  I love watching the tension build, bit by bit, until it absolutely can’t be contained anymore.  I know some people want more fluff and sex in their romances, but for me, nothing beats that moment of realization and the fallout of  it.  I have lost interest in books/series/tv shows based on  the characters I wanted to get together actually do and are happy, which sounds pretty terrible, but it’s true.  I stopped watching The Office once Jim and Pam got together.  I stopped reading Harry/Ginny fanfiction after Harry Potter ad the Half-Blood Prince cam out.

I’m really glad that I found Jae and her wonderful books, because I feel that I’ve finally found an author who understands everything I want from a romance story!

What I Didn’t:

I didn’t like that Luke was away from the ranch for much of the book.  We follow Luke on her journey, but to be honest, it wasn’t super interesting.  There is some conflict on the way to Fort Boise and back, but I spent much of these chapters wishing that I was reading about Amy and Rika.  I love Luke, but her story away from her family wasn’t very compelling.

The relationship between Nattie and Phin was also a bit frustrating.  It was so obvious throughout the whole book, that I was confused on how none of the other characters picked up on it.  Phin also gave up on the idea of them together pretty fast.  He didn’t even really try to be with her before he sends off for a mail-order bride!

Overall:

I was so happy when I finished Backwards to Oregon to discover that there was a sequel, especially considering that the sequel is almost 600 pages long!  Taking place seventeen years after the last book, this managed to be a brand new story while also continuing the story of Luke and Nora.  There is a lot of secrets (hence the title), and at times that could get a little frustrating, but I do love angst and shocking reveals, so I felt that the frustration was worth it.  While this book didn’t hit on quite as many of my favorite tropes as the first book, but it still had quite a few.  Mail-order bride? Women disguised as men? Hurt/comfort? Shocking secrets and reveals? Yes, please!  I’m sad that I’ve caught up on all of Jae’s historical romances, but I guess that means that I’ll just have to start reading some of her contemporary work!

My Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

