Book: Flawless (Irresistible Attraction #4) by Cat Grant

Genre: MM Contemporary Romance, Explicit

Title: Flawless

Author: Cat Grant

Release Date: 22 April 2013

17565642

Summary: 

Steve Campbell used to be a player, until a mid-life crisis opened his eyes to his long-repressed love for Connor, his soon-to-be-married best friend and business partner. Coming out at thirty-eight means learning how to date all over again, and this time, Steve’s not willing to settle for empty one-night stands. He wants the real thing.

Gil Alvarez has never had it easy, struggling through childhood and rejected by his family for a body that didn’t match who he was inside. A skilled driver and mechanic, he’s working hard to make his auto shop a success. The last thing he needs is a rich white guy in a candy-apple-red Ferrari tempting him, but Steve’s ready smile and easygoing manner prove irresistible.

One brief, intimate encounter leaves them both hungry for more. Gil’s not ashamed of who he is, but he’s terrified that Steve will reject him—or worse—when he discovers what Gil can’t find the courage to tell him.

What I Liked:

I’ll admit that when I started this book, I hadn’t read the full summary. As an avid reader of m/m romance I’m familiar with the formula. This seemed like is was going to be a simple opposites attract, rich boy/poor boy romance. And it was, but there was more to it than that.

During Steve and Gil’s first sexual encounter, I finally started to think that there was more to this book than the typical m/m novel. Gil had a secret, and while I suspected what it was, I didn’t really believe that the author would go there. But she did, and that makes me really happy.

What I Didn’t:

My only complaint is that I wish it was longer. Clocking in at 91 pages, I feel it did not explore Gil and Steve’s relationship as fully as it could have. They get together and the book abruptly ends with a happily ever after. I would have loved to see the couple work through their issues and learn more about each other.

Overall:

While this book seemed to have a cliche premise, the sweet romance and the twist of Gil’s secret made this book standout from the rest of the genre. I very much enjoyed it.

My Rating: 3.5/5

One thought on “Book: Flawless (Irresistible Attraction #4) by Cat Grant

Leave a Reply

