Book: Damage Control (The Hollywood Series #2) by Jae

Genre: FF Contemporary Romance, Explicit

Title: Damage Control

Author: Jae

Release Date: 1 April 2015

24712341

Summary: 

An actress practically since birth, Grace Durand has finally made it in Hollywood. When a photo of her in a seeming compromising situation with another woman is plastered all over the tabloids, she fears for her career as a lead in romantic movies.

Desperate for a publicist who’ll convince America that she’s straight, Grace hires Lauren Pearce, one of Hollywood’s leading PR agents, not knowing that she’s a lesbian.

Lauren has dealt with PR nightmares for years, so doing damage control for one more rich, spoiled client shouldn’t be a problem—or so she thinks. But the more time she spends with Grace, the more she realizes how different she is from her television persona.

Getting involved with her client is not in her game plan, especially since it would confirm the rumors and ruin Grace’s career, but the attraction between them is growing as they run the gauntlet of the paparazzi together.

What I Liked:

This is the first contemporary romance that I’ve read by Jae.  After 3 historical novels, I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I really enjoyed this!  The characters, setting, and story line were all great, and the romance!  The sexual tension was really amazing, especially with Grace not really knowing/understanding what she was feeling and why.  Beyond the 2 major characters, my favorite character was Jill, Grace’s friend.  Her story is truly heart-wrenching and real.  I can’t wait to see her get her own happily ever after.

I also loved the fact that Lauren was writing a screenplay of Shaken to the Core.  It’s such a fun little detail that Jae has connected her books in this way.  I wonder if any characters have an idea for making a movie set on the Oregon Trail… 🙂

What I Didn’t:

Grace’s mom is the worst!  She’s like one of the mothers from the horrible shows Dance Moms or Toddlers & Tiaras.  And Grace lets her mom treat her like shit!  I know that part of Grace’s arc is learning to challenge her mom, but it was so frustrating to watch her spend about 85% of the book just meekly giving in to her horrible mother.  Maybe I would have appreciated this part of the story more if Grace had been younger, but she a 30-years-old adult woman, so it just annoyed me.

Overall:

Once again, Jae has written a book that hits on some of my favorite tropes.  Famous people in secret, gay relationships is such an interesting story line to me, and it’s pulled off her beautifully.  Grace and Lauren have great chemistry, and I liked Grace’s growth over the course of the book.  She becomes so much more confident and sure of herself, and actually, so does Lauren.  The both teach each other and change each other, and that a dynamic that I think every relationship should have.  Everyone deserves to be with someone who makes them a happier, better, and stronger person.

I’ll definitely be continuing on in this series, because Grace’s friend Jill was very interesting, and I’d like to see how her story plays out.

My Rating: 4/5

One thought on “Book: Damage Control (The Hollywood Series #2) by Jae

Leave a Reply

