Book: The Rancher’s Son (Montana #2) by R.J. Scott

Genre: MM Contemporary Romance

Title: The Rancher’s Son

Author: R.J. Scott

Release Date: 22 March 2016

Previous Book in Series: Crooked Tree Ranch

21841440

Summary: 

When he wakes up in the hospital, the victim of a brutal beating, John Doe has no memories of who he is or who hurt him. The cops can find nothing to identify him and he can’t remember anything to help… except the name Ethan and one recurring place from his dreams. Two words, and they’re not much, but it’s a start: Crooked Tree.

Detective Ethan Allens has never stopped searching for the two boys who vanished. When a report lands on Ethan’s desk that may give new leads, he jumps at the chance to follow them up. The man he finds isn’t his brother, but it’s someone who could maybe help him discover what happened twelve years ago.

What neither man can know is that facing the very real demons of the past could destroy any kind of future they may have together.

What I Liked:

Okay, I’ll admit it.  I’m kind of a sucker for amnesia storylines.  I mean, yeah, they’re corny and ridiculous, but they’re also fun.  So, I really enjoyed that aspect of the book.  I also really liked that it was told in the alternating POVs of Ethan and Adam.  The reader is given enough facts to know more of the past than Adam, but not enough to easily figure out the mystery of Adam’s past.

I also really liked that this book was more plot than sex.  As a reader of many, many romance novels, I do tend to get bored by too many descriptions/scenes of characters sexing each other up.  So I very much appreciate books that focus on the plot and emotional relationship of the characters, rather than the physical aspects of their relationship.

What I Didn’t:

As much as I enjoyed this story, it definitely stretches the limits of credulity.  I liked the characters and the plot, but if you’re looking for a realistic story, this one may not be for you.  Which is especially interesting, considering how grounded in reality the first book in the series seemed.  The end is exciting, but I can already tell that the next book is going to be even more over-the-top.

Overall:

I’m really glad that I continued on with this series.  This book has a really good pace and the mystery was suspenseful.  Ethan and Adam have such a complicated yet sweet relationship, I was rooting for them to get together before Adam even remembered his own name!  The groundwork for the events of this novel were nicely set up in book one, and the end of this book definitely has enough of a hook to make me excited for the next book.  If only it was already published!  Luckily, A Cowboy’s Home, will be released on July 8.  Only a little over a week away!

My Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

