Movie: Housebound (2014)

Genre: Horror/Comedy, Not Rated

Title: Housebound

Release Date: 4 September 2014

mv5bmtuxnta5ntazm15bml5banbnxkftztgwode2ndkymje-_v1_sy1000_cr006771000_al_

Summary: 

A young woman is forced to return to her childhood home after being placed under house arrest where she suspects that something evil may be lurking in the house. 

What I Liked:

I don’t want to give away too much about the movie, because there’s a huge twist about three-fourths of the way through.  To be honest, the first time through, I wasn’t really enjoying the movie all that much, but the twist is really amazing.  It was something that I never would have predicted!  And then, there’s another twist!

Also, watching this movie for the second time, I appreciated the humor a lot more.  The humor is pretty dry at times, more akin to typical British humor than American.  The movie is a strange blend of horror, comedy, mystery, and suspense, and the only other movie I can think to compare it to is Joss Whedon’s Cabin in the Woods.

What I Didn’t:

For the first half of the movie, I hated Kylie, the protagonist.  I didn’t like her mum very much either, though she was annoying in a different way.  They both evolve through the movie, though, so I was rooting for them in the end.  Also, the tone can be a bit uneven, which isn’t really surprising when you consider how many genres are have been mashed together to make this movie.

Overall:

This movie is definitely unique.  I originally watched it because I was in the mood for a horror movie, and I like good ghost stories.  This wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, but I really enjoyed it anyway.  After I watched it, I immediately told my boyfriend, sister, and brother that they should watch it, because I wanted to talk about with somebody!  Writing a spoiler-free review of this movie is hard, because there’s so much interesting stuff that I want to talk about, but instead, I guess I’ll just recommend this movie and let you know that it is currently streaming on Netflix

My Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

