Book: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

Genre: YA Science Fiction/Fantasy

Title: Winter

Author: Marissa Meyer

Release Date: 10 November 2015

Previous Book in Series: Fairest

13206900

Summary: 

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

What I Liked:

OMGOMGOMGOMG!!!!!

This is finally the end of the road!  The last book of the Lunar Chronicles.  I am both overjoyed and completely devastated, but…it was really, really good.  It was just about everything that I’d hoped it would be.

There were twists and turns that I didn’t expect.  There was lovely romances (my favorite is a toss-up between Cress/Thorne and Scarlet/Wolf).  There’s angst and happiness and excitement and danger.  This book manages to tie up just about every plot thread and dangling subplot imaginable.  I really cannot say enough good things about Marissa Meyer as an author and this wonderful world that she has created!

What I Didn’t:

This is the part where I normally gush and talk about how flawless all the Lunar Chronicles books are, but…I did have some issues with this book.  I didn’t particularly like the character Winter, and the time spent with Winter and Jacin were my least favorite parts of the book.  This might be because I’ve had more time to connect with everyone else, but I just wish that I cared more about Winter and Jacin.  The only things that really made them interesting to me were their interactions with the other main characters once everyone has been split up.  I didn’t dislike them or their romance, but I just wanted something…more.

Overall:

This series is hands down one of my absolute favorites of all time.  I’m putting it right up there with Harry Potter, which is definitely saying something!  This series an amazing blend of fantasy, science fiction, adventure, and romance.  I have always loved fairy tale retellings, but this series is so far beyond what I could have ever imagined.  I love the characters, the settings, the romances, the world-building, the EVERYTHING!

I highly recommend that everyone go out and read the Lunar Chronicles.  I think that this series is up there with Harry Potter and The Hunger Games in terms of crossover appeal.  I have seen many people fall in love with this series, female and male, teenagers and senior citizens alike.  While I didn’t quite love this installment as much as I loved the others, it was a satisfying end to a brilliant story.

Now I’m just sad that it is over. (Well, actually, I still have a volume of short stories to read.  And apparently the author is planning a continuation comic book, I think).  I will definitely be revisiting these books many times in the future.

My Rating: 4.5/5

2 thoughts on “Book: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer

    1. There’s nothing wrong with that. I’ve been slacking on a bunch of other series lately. I’ve realized that if I read the books as they’re released, I totally forget what happened by the time the next book comes out! lol

      I think I might just wait until a series is complete before I read it from now on. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

