Movie: Laggies (2014)

Genre: Romantic Comedy, Rated R (but it feels more like PG-13)

Title:  Laggies

Release Date: 24 October 2014

mv5bmty5nju0mtqwml5bml5banbnxkftztgwmjyxmtu0mje-_v1_sy1000_cr006401000_al_

Summary: 

In the throes of a quarter-life crisis, Megan panics when her boyfriend proposes, then, taking an opportunity to escape for a week, hides out in the home of her new friend, 16-year-old Annika, who lives with her world-weary single dad.

What I Liked:

I’ve had this movie in my queue for a while, but I finally got around to it!  And it was super cute!  I very much identify with Megan, the twenty-something (almost thirty!) woman who is completely directionless.  All of her friends have careers and children and she’s just floating.  I can connect with that 100%.

Her friendship with Annika is a little strange, but it is believable.  Both actresses give strong performances, and both characters are likable and relatable.  Sam Rockwell is also great, but he’s Sam Rockwell, so I wouldn’t expect anything else.

What I Didn’t:

So I liked the romance, but once again, it came with a cheating storyline, so I didn’t like it as much as I could have.  The beginning was a little bit awkward as well.  I feel that they made Megan a bit too childish/teenager-like.  Obviously, she matures over the course of the movie, but her immaturity was just a little bit much in the beginning.  And this is coming from someone who definitely sees herself in Megan.  She was just a little too flighty for my taste.

Overall:

I enjoyed this movie a lot, but then, I’m pretty sure that I’m the target audience.  I really liked the characters and thought that the plot was a nice mix of the new and the clichéd.  The actors all did a great job, and I definitely chuckled a few times.  I liked the chemistry and romance between Keira Knightley and Sam Rockwell, even if I didn’t like the cheating element of that storyline.  This movie was light, cute, and fun.  I would definitely recommend it if you’re a fan of offbeat rom-coms.

My Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

