Movie: Star Trek Beyond

Genre: Sci-fi Action/Adventure

Title: Star Trek Beyond

Release Date: 22 July 2016

mv5bmtu1njkwnzawml5bml5banbnxkftztgwntkxntawote-_v1_sy1000_cr006401000_al_

Summary: 

The USS Enterprise crew explores the furthest reaches of uncharted space, where they encounter a new ruthless enemy who puts them and everything the Federation stands for to the test.

What I Liked:

I’m a big fan of the Star Trek reboot movies, and this movie was a great addition to the series.  It starts off a bit slow and odd, but the pace picks up and doesn’t stop.  There’s a lot of action and humor, but what I loved most about the movie was all the little character moments.

There was some great development for all of our main characters.  I especially liked that we got to spend so much time with Dr. McCoy.  I felt that he was under-utilized in the first 2 movies.  The focus was firmly fixed on Kirk and Spock, where the original series/movies focused on Kirk, Spock, and McCoy.  This is probably because Star Trek Beyond was written by Simon Pegg, who is a huge Star Trek nerd.  I hope that he gets to right the next movie as well!

The new character, Jaylah, is pretty great.  She’s strong and independent, but there still seems to be a bit of innocence about her.  I liked her relationship with Scotty, and I really hope that she returns in the future.

Also, the “classic music” bit was amazing.  Best. Callback. Ever!  I actually laughed out loud.

What I Didn’t:

I wish the development of the villain, Krall, happened a bit earlier.  I liked the reveal, but I felt like there was still so much I don’t understand about him and his people.  There’s probably plot holes around Krall’s story, but I can’t quite tell because I’m still kinda confused.  Maybe I’ll understand everything next time I see the movie?

The special effects were fine for most of the movie, but there were a few pretty terrible CGI bits.  The very beginning, Scotty hanging of the cliff, and some of the motorcycle stuff comes to mind.

Overall:

This movie is so much fun!  I know that a lot of people had doubts based on the trailers, but I actually think this movie is better than Into Darkness.  Beyond has a lighter tone and more humor, and it also doesn’t lean so heavily on story elements/callbacks to the original series/movies.  Star Trek 2009 is still my favorite (I may have seen it 19 times in the theaters. Don’t judge me!), but this is definitely #2.  I’ll be going to see this one in the theaters again for sure.  Maybe not 19 times, though. 😉

My Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

