Movie: Ghostbusters (2016)

Genre: Comedy, Action/Adventure

Title: Ghostbusters

Release Date: 15 July 2016

mv5bmtu0otq5ndmznv5bml5banbnxkftztgwmtuxodmxote-_v1_sy1000_cr006731000_al_

Summary: 

Following a ghost invasion of Manhattan, paranormal enthusiasts Erin Gilbert and Abby Yates, nuclear engineer Jillian Holtzmann, and subway worker Patty Tolan band together to stop the otherworldly threat.

What I Liked:

I liked this movie more than I though I was going to.  I’ve never been a big Ghostbusters fan.  I saw the original movie many years ago, and I liked it, but I honestly don’t remember too much about it.  So, I wasn’t going into this movie with any sort of expectations other than those given to me by the trailers, which I didn’t think looked very good.

I really liked Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy as Erin and Abby.  I thought they were really funny and had good chemistry.  I liked their characters and interactions, and I really appreciated that the humor was toned down from some of what I’ve seen from them in the past.

Chris Hemsworth was hilarious!  His characters was so, so dumb.  He played the part so earnestly that it was truly perfect.  He was definitely my favorite part of the movie.

What I Didn’t:

The trailers for this movie were very, very bad.  It’s like they took all of the worst bits of the movie and put them all in the trailer.  Not all of the humor works, and I wish that Holzmann and Patty were more fully realized characters.  The weakest bit of the movie for me is probably the end.  I wish that they had maybe gone a bit smaller instead of the whole giant ghost/monster destroying the city.  That’s when the retread from the original movie started to annoy me.

Overall:

This movie was a solid bit of summer entertainment.  I laughed, I jumped (which I didn’t expect!), and I thoroughly enjoyed myself.  Is this movie OMGAMAZING?  No, but it’s fine.  It’s harmless.  It’s not the worst movie ever made, and it’s going to “ruin your childhood.”  This is just a fun summer movie with some good humor, good characters, and good special effects.  Don’t over analyze.  Don’t think too hard.  Just enjoy.

My Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

