IRL: My Personal Adventures in Hockey

I have not always been a hockey fan.  In fact, I’ve actually been a hokey fan for less than a year!  But, I never do things by halves, so when I became a hockey fan, I became a hockey fan.

My journey to the sport actually started with either romance novels or fanfiction, I can’t remember which.  Luckily, this was just a few weeks before the 2015-16 NHL preseason began, so I had time to learn more about the game.  And by more, I mean everything, because I knew nothing.  Hockey isn’t a big sport in Southern California, though it’s popularity is growing all the time thanks to having two good teams.

Despite living near two hockey teams, I chose to cheer for the Chicago Blackhawks.  I was partially influenced by their popularity (so much info/videos/pictures/fanfiction) and their success (3 cups in 6 years!), but the biggest factor was actually that my boyfriend is from Chicago and is a Blackhawks fan.  I figured that it might be nice to have a sports team in common, since we support different baseball teams (at least our teams aren’t rivals!).

But then, somehow, I fell in love with the Pittsburgh Penguins.  I still love the Blackhawks, but the Penguins quickly became my #1 team, even though they weren’t having a great season (lol).  My boyfriend was awesome enough to take me to both a Blackhawks at Kings game AND a Penguins at Ducks games.  My teams lost both games (because of course they did).  But it was still amazing and so much fun.

For non-hockey fans (who probably aren’t reading this, but whatever), the Penguins fired their coach a few games after the game I went to and hired a new one.  They ended up winning the Stanley cup!  And my mom, who is baffled by my choice of hockey team, thinks that I should probably pick out lottery numbers because I’m obviously lucky (I’m really not).

During this, I started ice skating.  I hadn’t been in years, but I loved watching how easy the players made it look.  It’s not easy.  I have good balance, but skating is actually really, really hard.  I bought a pair of skates and started going to my local rinks at least once a week.  I watched many, many YouTube videos on edges and stopping and skating backwards.  It felt amazing to be doing something physical for once, instead of just sitting around the house.

IMG_1159
Me at the rink!

 

I broke my left wrist  on December 19th.  I was turning from skating forwards to backwards and fell.  I got up, got off the ice, and knew pretty much right away that it was broken.  My visit to the doctor the next day confirmed it.

I was back on the ice 5 days later.

1919164_1666412983636074_4708752786492960199_n
December 24, 5 days after breaking my wrist.
12593449_1677769085833797_2311008740028211764_o
December 21, January 11, and January 25

 

 

In April, I went to an adult learn-to-play clinic at a local rink.  It was 3 weeks long, and they gave us loaner equipment and beginning instruction.  And I learned that hockey is a LOT harder than just being able to skate!  I had so much fun that I knew this was something I wanted to keep doing.

13055458_1712690399008332_1264266652871966920_n.jpg
Learn to play clinic

 

So…I got my own gear (some new, some used, so expensive!!!) and signed up for the rink’s rookie league.  My team has played 7 games.  We lost the first 6, but yesterday, August 6th we finally won!!!  It felt so amazing!  And I even registered my first point: an assist on the game winning goal!!!

So, this isn’t the type of thing I normally post, but I just thought that I’d share.  One thing I love about books is that they can introduce you to brand new things that you never knew about or didn’t think you’d be interested in.

Without books and reading, I never would have discovered hockey.  I wouldn’t have experienced going to live NHL games or seeing my team win the Stanly Cup, and I definitely wouldn’t be a hockey player!  Once again, reading has opened up my world in a new way and made my life so much better.

I hope that your passion for reading leads you to find other passions as well!

Here’s a list of all the hockey romances that I’ve reviewed on this blog so far:

One thought on “IRL: My Personal Adventures in Hockey

Leave a Reply

