Book: Crossroads (Crossroads #1) by Riley Hart

Genre: MM Contemporary Romance

Title: Crossroads

Author: Riley Hart

Release Date: 28 July 2015

25963015

Summary: 

After divorcing the woman he’d been with since he was seventeen, Nick Fuller is starting over. He owns the restaurant of his dreams and he’s determined to meet new people, find new passions, and experience life to its fullest. Easier said than done—that is until he meets his new neighbor, Bryce Tanner…

Bryce is all about a good time. He plans to show Nick how it’s done, help him meet a few women, and enjoy the gift of the single life he’s been given. But things don’t go as planned, and soon they realize they’d rather be together than with anyone else.

Neither man has ever wanted another guy, but there’s a connection between them from the start—a spark they can’t deny. They find themselves navigating an unfamiliar new world and dealing with unforeseen obstacles. Physical desire isn’t enough, and now Nick and Bryce are at a crossroads. They have to decide which way to go: the easy path they’ve always followed, or the one that’s determined to trip them up at every turn.

What I Liked:

This book was a reread for me, and I had forgotten how much I liked this book! Most readers seem to consider this books a double gay-for-you (GFY) story, but, as a believer in a Kinsey scale/sexuality spectrum,  I don’t believe gay-for-you is an actual things.  But I do absolutely believe that a man could experience his first same-sex attraction/relationship at age 30 (or even older!).

This book also hit one of my favorite tropes, in which the main romantic couple doesn’t realize that they’re actually dating until it’s pointed out to them.  It’s especially believable in a situation where the characters definitely don’t expect romance.  It’s so cute how they actually believe that they’re “good friends” for such a long time.  I also love that both Nick and Bryce really have no angst or hesitation when it comes to each other.  They may have thought they were straight, but neither one has any denial or gay panic once they figure outs what’s going on, which is rare in a “GFY” story.

The best thing of all, though, is the sex.  So. HOT!!!  This book has some of the hottest MM sex scenes that I have read in quite some time.  I’ll admit that I get kind of ‘meh’ when it comes to sex in romance novels.  I do enjoy it, but I prefer the plot/pining/angst/getting together/drama stuff than the sex scenes.  But this book…damn!  Also, if you like dirty talk, this book is for you.

This book is also one of the few romances I’ve read where the couple has some issues with sex.  In most books, the sex is always big and perfect and amazing.  Here, the characters are figuring things out, so the sex is not always the best.  Things don’t always work.  I love that, because it’s so true to life, and it makes that relationship feel that much more sweet and realistic.

What I Didn’t:

For such a sweet, simple story, the family drama got to be a bit grating.  Nick’s family was especially infuriating with their “traditional gender roles” bullshit.  Bryce’s family’s penchant for believing him to be incapable of taking anything seriously was also maddening.  I mean, eventually everything (mostly) worked out, but I enjoyed the family bits a lot less than the rest of the book.

Overall:

I am so glad that I reread this book.  I love the main characters and they have such a wonderful relationship.  The romance hits the perfect notes for the friends-to-lovers, didn’t know they were dating, and gay for you (or, you know, burgeoning bisexuality) tropes.  The sex scenes that are written to be sweet and awkward work because of their realism, and the other sex scenes are super hot!  While the family drama on both sides gets to be a little bit much, overall this is a very sweet, very hot, and nicely uncomplicated romance.  This book is near the top of my list of favorite MM romances.

My Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

