Movie: Lights Out

Genre: Horror

Title: Lights Out

Release Date: 22 July 2016

mv5bmtg1otkxndgymv5bml5banbnxkftztgwmjezntc0ode-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

Summary: 

When her little brother, Martin, experiences the same events that once tested her sanity, Rebecca works to unlock the truth behind the terror, which brings her face to face with an entity that has an attachment to their mother, Sophie.

What I Liked:

I was interested in seeing this movie primarily because I saw the short film that it is based on when it made the rounds on Facebook a few years ago.  I rarely see horror movies, but I thought I’d give this one a shot, seeing as it got decent reviews and was a supernatural story instead of a gore fest.

The performances in this movie were really good.  The child actor looked suitably terrified, the older sister was strong and concerned and strong, the boyfriend was really sweet, and the mom was crazy.

The ghost/monster was scary.  It reminded me a bit of the Doctor Who episodes Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead with the whole staying out of the dark thing, but this creature was actually a lot scarier.  There are some really creative uses of light and light sources to fend of the creature throughout the movie including flashlights, candles, cell phone, and car headlights.  The coolest bit as probably when someone was shooting at it, creating a strobe effect of seeing the creature in the muzzle blasts.

The plot was fairly standard, but there were a couple of things that I didn’t expect.  But really, this movie isn’t about the plot.  It’s about the performances and the creativity of how they used light versus the ghost/monster.

What I Didn’t:

If this movie is taken as an allegory for depression, as it very well could be, the ending is…definitely not the best.  I didn’t mind it in the plot of the movie, but thinking about the symbolism of it all after the movie made me a bit uncomfortable.  Also, don’t think too much about the plot of the movie because it really doesn’t make sense.  I mean, most horror movies don’t, but still…

Overall:

I enjoyed this movie.  It’s pretty short, but that’s a good thing because it doesn’t wear out its welcome.  The plot doesn’t make much sense when you actually sit down and think about it, but the I liked the characters enough to be invested in the story.  I like that the movie follows some typical horror tropes, while managing to subvert your expectations on others.  The visuals and mood were creepy, and all jumpscares happen when the ghost/monster is actually attacking.  I’m not a big fan of horror movies, but when I do watch horror, this is exactly the type of movie I want to watch: spooky, supernatural, and suspenseful, with likable characters and no gore.  It reminded me a bit of The Ring, which I saw in the theaters several times as a young teenager (It scared me to death, but I loved it!).  If you want to see a good supernatural horror film that is creepy but not too intense, I would definitely recommend going to see this one.

My Rating: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

