Book: Blonde Date (The Ivy Years #2.5) by Sarina Bowen

Genre: MF Contemporary Romance, Explicit

Title: Blonde Date

Author: Sarina Bowen

Release Date: 6 July 2014

22444651

Summary: 

As a sorority pledge, there are commandments that Katie Vickery must live by. One: thou shalt not show up for the party without a date. Two: the guy shall be an athlete, preferably an upperclassman.

Unfortunately, Katie just broke up with her jerkface football player boyfriend. Even worse, her last encounter with him resulted in utter humiliation. She’d rather hide under the bed than attend a party where he’ll be.

Yet staying home would mean letting him win.

Enjoying herself tonight was out of the question. She could only hope to get through the evening without her blind date noticing that he was spending the evening with a crazy person.

Andrew Baschnagel is living proof that nice guys don’t finish first. He’s had his eye on Katie since the moment her long legs waltzed into his art history class. So when her roommate sets Andy up to be Katie’s date, he’d be crazy to say no. Unfortunately, he doesn’t have a lot of practice with either girls or parties. Yet.

What I Liked:

Andrew is the cutest thing ever.  He’s an athlete, but he’s also a big old dork, and I absolutely love characters like that.  Of the two main characters, Andrew actually reminds me a lot of myself.  He second guesses himself a lot and feels generally un-cool, but he’s funny and so, so nice.

It was also surprising to me how much I ended up liking Katie.  I didn’t have a very good impression of her in The Year We Hid Away.  It’s funny how one characters perception of another character affects the reader so much with them realizing it.  Scarlet didn’t think highly of Katie, so neither did I.  This novella really showed that Katie is smart, friendly, and has a good sense of humor.  She also has a bit of a geeky side, because even blonde sorority girls can love Star Wars.

What I Didn’t:

The sex scene is a bit too disjointed for me.  It’s chopped up into quite a few short chapters, some of which are…a poem?  Song lyrics?  I don’t know which, but it just didn’t work for me.  Also, the sex was totally hot, but…I’m not sure if I believe that Katie would jump into bed so quickly after her last encounter.  Andrew is a super sweet, amazing guy, but that kind of experience sticks with you, whether you think it will or not.

Overall:

I wasn’t expecting too much from this story based on what I knew of the main character Katie, but I actually ended up really liking this novella.  Both Katie and Andrew were fun, relatable characters, and they had good chemistry together.  The sex scene was a bit choppy, and I didn’t much like the song/poetry bits mixed into the sex.  As with all novellas, my biggest criticism is that I wish this story was at least 2150 pages longer.  I got really invested in these characters,  and I wish that they could have gotten a full-sized book, but I’ll just have to be happy with these 91 pages.

My Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

