Movie: Boy Meets Girl (2014)

Genre: LGBT Romance, Unrated

Title: Boy Meets Girl

Release Date: 6 February 2015

full-5db7dc-boymeetsgirl-dvdkeyart-29

Summary: 

Boy Meets Girl is a funny, tender, sex positive romantic comedy that explores what it means to be a real man or woman, and how important it is to live a courageous life not letting fear stand in the way of going after your dreams.

What I Liked:

My favorite thing about this movie is that they got an actual trans actress to play the role of Ricky, the main character.  So often, you see transwomen played by cismen or transmen played by ciswomen.  It’s always great to see a movie or tv show that cares enough to actually find a transgender actress to fill a role.  Also, Michelle Hendley is really attractive in a girl-next-door kind of way.

This movie is also very frank when it comes to talking about sex.  I don’t think I’d be able to watch this movie with anyone else, because the talks about sex get a little bit…graphic.  It’s honest and real and informative, just a bit uncomfortable.  I also like the exploration of sexuality.  What does it mean to be a transwoman in a relationship with another woman?  What about being a cisman in a relationship with a transwoman?  These are questions that aren’t often explored in movies and television, or they are handled in a very superficial way.

I also have to applaud both the filmmakers and Michelle Hendley on the bravery to include a shot of full-frontal nudity.  Yes, it’s a shocking, but in the best way.  It really makes the viewers get a view into what being transgender really means.  The moment is so fragile, beautiful, and impactful.

Shout out to Michael Welch, who I am a fan of all the way from his Joan of Arcadia Days.  He was also one of my favorite thing about the Twilight movies.  (LOL)

What I Didn’t:

I’m not a huge fan of the whole cheating aspect of the story.  It makes me angry at Francesca more than Ricky, but I’m wasn’t happy with either of them.  I also didn’t like how Francesca’s fiancé was written.  At first he was a stereotypical southern military meathead who is very anti-LGBTQ.  When his reason for being so crazy about LGBTQ people, he moves into a different stereotype.  I didn’t like the way his character was handled at all.

Overall:

This is a fantastic LGBTQ movie that explores a lot of themes that I have never seen brought up in a movie before.  I especially like that this is a Transgender love story that has a HAPPY ENDING!  It really is sad how often LGBTQ movies (especially trans movies) have depressing and dreary endings.  I wasn’t a fan of the cheating plotline or the way that the way that one of the minor characters was written, but that wasn’t enough to ruin my enjoyment of this movie.  Michelle Hendley is to be congratulated on doing a great job in her first movie role ever, and I applaud her bravery at doing full-frontal nudity on camera.  This is a sweet, interesting movie that asks a lot of interesting question and definitely doesn’t shy away from difficult topics.  I would highly recommend this movie to people who are fans of LGBTQ media.

My Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

