InRealLife: 5 Fandoms That I’m Embarrassed to Admit to

I’ve been reading fanfiction steadily for about 15 years.  My first real fandom was Harry Potter, but, under the guidance of my older sister, I quickly branched out to reading fanfic for basically every book/movie/tv series that I read/saw.

When it comes to fandom and shipping, I’m not a very easy person to embarrass.  I’ve read and seen so much on the internet, I feel like nothing can really shock me anymore.  BUT…since I’ve been so indiscriminate with my fanfic reading since my days as a young teenager, I cringe to when I look back at some of the things that I’ve read.  And even if I’m not cringing, I’ll freely admit that some of my fandoms have been a bit on the kooky side.  So, here’s a list of 5 embarrassing fandoms for which I’ve read fanfiction (in no particular order).

  • Twilight

amazing-beautiful-bella-bella-swan-favim-com-980593

Okay, so this is a very big, very common fandom.  I have a difficult relationship with Twilight.  On one hand, there are some things about the series that I enjoy.  On the other hand, it’s Twilight.  I have spent more time than I should have reading epic Jacob/Bella fanfiction, because fuck Edward.  For a time, I also branched out into reading wolf pack slash, and I will freely admit that I would totally read a Bella’s dad/Jacob’s dad romance.  For some reason, that’s less embarrassing to me than reading regular old Team Jacob romance…

  • Jurassic Park 3

tumblr_letsytdud11qc489fo1_500

I love this movie.  Yes, it’s stupid, but it’ also a lot of fun to watch.  Also, Dr. Alan Grant and Billy Brennan are totally boyfriends.  The embarrassing thing about this is that I didn’t read any JP3 fanfic until a couple of years ago, and the movie came out in 2001.  Talk about being behind the times!  The strangest thing I read was an epic length fic featuring a love triangle of sorts between Alan, Billy, and a Velociraptor.  Idek!!!

  • Titanic

titanic-movie-beautiful-high-quality

I didn’t see the full movie of Titanic until I was 17-years-old.  And then, I watched it pretty much constantly.  I could spout facts about the Titanic.  I went to the traveling Titanic museum exhibit.  And I read tons of fanfiction in which Rose was pregnant with Jack’s baby, and Jack survived but they didn’t find each other until years later.  So many retelling of the same basic story with different degrees of bad writing.  What were you thinking, teenage self?!?

  • High School Musical

8945-944-479

I liked the first HSM movie when it came out in 2006, but when the sequel came out a year later, I turned it off after about 5 minutes.  Then, a couple of years later, I was linked to this masterpiece. And then this.  Sold!  I became obsessed with HSM (especially HSM2).  I went to see the 3rd movie in the theaters.  I got my sister into it, and we went to go see High School Musical on Ice!  So…yeah.  I owned HSM shirts, books, games, and dvds.  Keep in mind that I WAS AN ADULT for all of this.  Though, to be honest, I do still love HSM and would read fanfic for it if there were more being written.  Also?  Chad/Ryan 4ever!!!

  • Newsies

newsies4

So many Mary Sue fanfics of girl newsies falling in love with Spot Conlon!  There were a couple of slash fics that were never very well written or contained any type of historical accuracy (though, to be fair, neither does the movie).  And then, there are all of the modern day AUs, which I could never really get into.  The worst thing about Newsies fanfiction is that I’ve been wanting to go back and read some more, especially after seeing the live musical.  I feel like I’m too old for this shit, but…I’ll probably venture out into the wilds of fanfiction.net and AO3 to see if there’s anything decent.  Because I’m an adult and I can do whatever I want! So there!

 

 

One thought on “InRealLife: 5 Fandoms That I’m Embarrassed to Admit to

Leave a Reply

